Qualification Options


We currently offer the following City & Guilds Advocacy qualifications:

  • Level 2 Award in Independent Advocacy (England, Wales, N. Ireland)
  • Level 4 Independent Advocacy Practice (England, N. Ireland)


The Level 2 Award is ideal for anyone wanting to acquire knowledge of Independent Advocacy and the role of an independent advocate.  The qualification covers the principles of independent advocacy, the independent advocacy role, communication and equality and inclusion within independent advocacy with an aim to provide learners with an understanding of what independent advocacy is and the principles which underpin good practice.

(England, Wales and Northern Ireland)

The Level 4 Independent Advocacy Practice 

This qualification is for those individuals who act as independent advocates in both statutory and/or non-statutory roles. It has been designed to meet the needs of independent advocates working in England and in Northern Ireland.
The qualification provides the opportunity to develop both the skills and knowledge required to provide independent advocacy.

(England and Northern Ireland)

Age Group – 18 or older

An Independent Advocate is someone who takes the side of the individuals and supports them to find their voice, ensuring their right to have their say, make choices and decisions, is heard and listened to.

The Level 2 Award in Independent Advocacy is a good introduction to Advocacy for anyone wanting to acquire knowledge of Independent Advocacy and the role of an Independent Advocate.

This course is the perfect place to start if: you’re starting out or looking for a role as an independent advocate; you’re interested in being a volunteer advocate; you work alongside or use advocacy services, or if it is a part of your wider current role, for example, as a support worker, health and social care professional, social worker. Our unique distance learning course allows you to achieve at your own pace.

The Level 4 Independent Advocacy Practice is suitable for those individuals who act as Independent Advocates where there is a statutory entitlement requirement for individuals to have access to an independent advocate.

The qualification provides a way of recognising the competence of independent advocates:

  • in specialist areas such as mental health and mental capacity advocacy
  • where qualifications for independent advocates are mandatory in England
  • in independent advocacy roles where there is no statutory entitlement
  • who work in a range of other contexts


You will need to complete one unit, (4 credits/40 TQT), this is:

  • Understand the purpose and role of the Independent Advocate

This distance learning course has an easy to follow format, including activities, scenarios and handouts, to help consolidate your knowledge and understanding whilst taking you through the learning outcomes of the award. On the successful completion of the distance learning materials & accompanying workbook, you will have achieved your Level 2 Award in Independent Advocacy qualification.

Full qualification guidance – Level 2 Award in Independent Advocacy Handbook V1.1 (Jan 23) – 3610-02

This qualification is assessed by a Portfolio of Evidence. Full rules of combination are specified in the Qualification Handbooks.

The qualification structure is based on the learner having to achieve the following:

All 3 mandatory units covering:

  • Principles and practice of independent advocacy
  • Legislation relevant to independent advocacy
  • Entitlements and access to independent advocacy

Plus ONE unit from the optional which cover the following themes:

  • mental capacity
  • mental health
  • adult social care
  • children and young people
  • complaints
  • community

Full qualification guidance – Level 4 Independent Advocacy Practice Qualification Handbook V1.2 Aug23 - 3614-04

All learners vary on the timescale to complete their qualification.
When you register, you will be given a specified target date in which to achieve your qualification, you can complete your qualification sooner than the target date if you are able to submit work regularly and at a good pace. Specific target dates can be discussed and agreed with your Assessor.

Total Qualification Time (TQT) ranges from 40 – 320 hrs, depending on the qualification being undertaken, these are based on the average amount of time taken to achieve these qualifications, over an average completion period of 6 – 18 months.

(including Registration, Learner Pack, Assessment and Certification) from:

• Level 2 Award in Independent Advocacy – £299.
• Level 4 Independent Advocacy Practice - £2108.

These prices are reduced significantly for learners and organisations with their own in-house assessor support.

Registration only from:

• Level 4 Independent Advocacy Practice - £788.

To register for any of these qualifications, you need to complete the necessary registration forms. This will prompt support for you to consider all the aspects involved in undertaking the qualification and ensure the right one is selected for you. You will also need to seek permission from your organisation to collect evidence in the workplace.

To find out more about registering please click here ‘How to Register.

All ARC learner documentation is included in our learner portfolios, these can also be accessed via our ‘’Documentation, Guidance & Policies’ section in word and .pdf format.

Awarding Organisation guidance is available via the same page.